This morning, I decided not to be a Grinch

This morning, I decided not to be a Grinch.

I was going to write about how the greeting ‘Happy Holidays’ annoys me. Especially here in Western Maryland, where Christian churches are on every street and corner, the market is deserted every Sunday morning between 10 am and noon, every dollar store sells home decorations inscribed with ‘Jesus Saves’, and at this time of year nativity scene shepherds rub elbows with inflatable Santa Clauses.

Good grief, I was going to whine, when my Muslim friends celebrate the end of Ramadan I am happy to wish them Eid Mubarak, and as well, they never fail to send me cards that wish me Merry Chritmas. I was going to tell you how I find ‘Happy Holidays’ mealy-mouthed and insincere.

But this morning an honorary relation of mine, Jimmy Cooney, posted a video on Facebook.

(I need words for my growing band of ‘people-who-feel-like-relatives-but-are-in-fact-only-related-by-marriage-to-my-daughter ‘. Any suggestions?)

The women in this video reminded me that Christmas is actually about sharing the love of God and not grouching over greetings – make sure you watch what happens at the end.

From Allen https://www.flickr.com/photos/afcphoto/
From Allen https://www.flickr.com/photos/afcphoto/

 

 

Leave a comment